How to use Engage
Replying, managing, and assigning conversations in Engage
Engage allows you to reply to messages from Twitter (DMs and Tweets) and Facebook (DMs and Comments) bringing all of your social media conversations into one easy-to-manage inbox.
Note: Engage is available on Premium and Enterprise plans
Before getting started with Engage, the very first thing you'll need to do is to connect your social media accounts by heading to the 'Setup' area in the bottom of left of the Engage area. The connections in this area don't have to be the same as the connections you are publishing to within the Publish area.
For more information on managing connections in Engage, check out this article...
Once your social channels are connected, all new messages from your social media channels will begin appearing within Engage. All conversations are automatically given a title that relates to the source of the message (e.g. DM from Facebook) and the person who has submitted the request (e.g. Alex Packham) so you'll always understand the context of your social media conversations.
To reply to a message, simply write out your response in the text box at the bottom of your screen, add emojis if you like, and press 'send' whenever you are ready. Keep in mind that your reply will send as if from the connected social account, and not from your personal user.
For Facebook DMs only, replies can be sent in the form of media such as images and videos. You can also receive messages in the form of media from Facebook DMs.
Callout note: There is a 7-day limitation when replying to messages from Facebook. This means that conversations from Facebook will disappear from your Engage inbox after 7 days. This is due to restrictions directly from Facebook.
If for whatever reason, you'd like to view a Facebook or Twitter post natively, you can easily open the link to your conversation from within Engage by selecting the 'New tab' icon on the right of the original post.
When replying to comments from Twitter, you can also make use of nested replies, to respond to individual comments within the thread. To do so, select the arrow icon on the individual comment and then write your response in the text box that appears.
When new messages arrive in Engage, you'll find them by looking at the 'All' inbox in the 'Teams' area. If a message has not been assigned to anyone on the team, you'll also be able to view the same message within the 'Unassigned' inbox.
Within the Teams area, you'll see a list of everyone with access to Engage. By clicking on your individual team members within this area, you can view all of the conversations that are currently assigned to each team member.
To assign a conversation, or re-assign a conversation, you can do so by selecting the dropdown menu at the top right of every conversation to choose a team member to assign to. You may also assign conversations to yourself via this method.
Any conversations assigned to you, will appear in your inbox under the 'Me' section.
Tagging conversations will help you organize your messages into appropriate folders. You might choose to tag by conversation topic, department, or something else entirely.
To create Conversation Tags, head to the 'Setup' area at the bottom left of Engage.
Conversations can be tagged with as many Tags as you like. Whenever a Tag is added to a conversation, that conversation will then appear when you select the corresponding Tag from the lefthand menu; allowing you to curate individual inboxes of related conversations.
Engage allows you to mark conversations as 'Priority' allowing you and your team to visibly see which conversations are most urgent.
To mark a conversation as Priority, simply select the flag icon at the top right of the conversation. Once selected, the flag will turn red and your conversation will appear in the Priority inbox within the 'Me' section. This conversation will only appear in the Priority inbox of the person the conversation is assigned to.
Once a conversation is completed, you can 'close' the conversation, to separate it from your ongoing messages.
To close a conversation, simply select the tick icon at the top right of the conversation. Once closed, the tick icon will be replaced with an inbox icon - pressing this will then re-open the conversation.
All closed conversations can still be accessed at any point by heading to the 'All' inbox within the Teams section and selecting to filter by 'Closed' conversations. (This can also be done from your personal inbox in the Me section, as well as in a number of other locations).
If you want to discuss your response to a conversation before you send it, or get other members of the team involved, you can leave internal notes on conversations. Internal notes are not visible to the person you are conversing with via social media, and can only be read by your internal team.
To leave an internal note, select the notes icon to the right of the text box where you would normally write your reply. Once selected, the text box will turn yellow. This means it is now safe to write and send your internal note. Once sent, these will appear within the conversation in yellow.
Within internal notes, you can also @ mention other members of your team. By @ mentioning team members, you are moving the conversation in their @ mentions inbox that sits within the 'Me' area. Any time you are mentioned within an internal comment, you will also be able to view this conversation by heading to your @ mentions area in your 'Me' section.
If you head into the 'Invite + Manage People' area from your Dashboard, you can edit the access levels of any User on your account. By selecting each User in this area, you can choose which Calendars they have access to, as well as whether they can access Engage for each Calendar.
Next article →
🔍 Can’t find what you’re looking for?
Email us with your questions, or get in touch with us via the live chat bubble in the bottom right hand corner of the ContentCal web app screen.Message us